never?

January 19, 2011

This may seem like a pretty lofty assumption to make, but I’m going to make it anyway:

I think this is the most perfectly breathtakingly beautiful single performance of all time.

I’m not just saying it because I’m a bit obsessed or because I’m a lot obsessed. The song is a bitch to sing, yet it’s done flawlessly and definitively, and it’s not just sung, but performed and lived. And just go check out 2:20. Do you see those two bodies standing bare on a stage? How is it that from a mainly empty stage can emanate so much excitement and raw emotion? How is it that two human beings can fill so much space with passion and belting? If I had been there, I probably would have exploded.

I challenge you to find something that could ever top this. You won’t.

3 Responses to “never?”

  1. Hannah Says:

    you’re right. even i can appreciate this. and the 2:20 part, you were right about that too. But i need some context. What are they singing about? are they twins? are they smushed into one dress or is my computer screen just very terrible?

  2. emmuhhs Says:

    you sing this to me so frequently that i feel strange hearing anyone but you sing it.

    but still. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh


Leave a Reply

