this is us?

December 5, 2010

(bruthuz and sistehz, we ah heEeEeEre tunight tuh fight thuh devuhl.)

I would like to point out the following reasons why this statement is remarkable:

1. Of course, there’s the vibrato. The vibrato on the spoken word “here.” Necessary? No. Ordinary? No. Brilliant? Always.

2. Then, there is the fact that the above an make a certain group of people break out into insatiable laughter at any time, under any circumstances. It is the ultimate instant pick-me-up. And that’s needed fairly often these days. Luckily, we have it, and we have each other.

3. But who, you may ask is this “devil?” Well…

4. Finally, this four seconds of brassy diva ridiculosity reminds me, for some strange reason, who I have and how great it is to have them. This, perhaps, is the best thing about it. And why I smile every time I hear it. I guess I am pretty lucky. And I guess all the other bullshit and all the other bullshit people and things I spend too much time thinking about aren’t as important as spoken vibrato and the people who’d die for it.

3 Responses to “this is us?”

  1. marypopkens Says:

    patti’s like a melody in mah head.

  2. emmuhhs Says:

    number threeeee

  3. Stevachu Says:

    i love everything about this. ❤
    aaaand im a fan of 3 as well. and alexandra's comment.
    and you, of course.


Leave a Reply

