every other night?

March 15, 2010

When I was little I had this recurring dream:

My sister and I owned a potion shop. (And this was before Harry Potter, so, at the time, that was a very original occupation.) It was a very small, square room with stone walls lined with glass bottles of brightly-colored liquid. In the center of the room was a large, old, wooden table. Also, in the dream, I would carry around my blue blankey wherever I went. I refused to sleep without it, so I couldn’t not have it in my dreams.

In the dream, business was as usual at the potion shop. Until, all of a sudden, my sister told me that the witch was coming, and I had to hide. The witch was the oldest, ugliest wretch in town, and she hated little boys. She would take them away from their families and keep them prisoner in her basement. Even though the witch came by often, and I was used to hiding, I would still be scared. Wouldn’t you?

Normally, I would hide, the witch would leave, and I’d come out. But this time, as I lay there beneath the table, quaking in fear, the witch noticed something sticking out from beneath the table: a shard of blue blankey. As I saw her feet stop and her knees bend, I knew that she had found me. I saw her decrepit hand reach for my blankey as she went to look for me under the table.

And then I woke up.

Every time.

One Response to “every other night?”

  1. Stephen Says:

    I don’t know if I like the story of the dream more, or the fact it’s Bernadette.


Leave a Reply

