i am a scary rockstar?

February 16, 2010

There’s something that is very important to me.

It’s called rockstar time.

Most afternoons, I get home from school around 2:30. My mom doesn’t get home for another hour or two. I spend this time with one ear connected to my iPod, singing along to whatever I’m in the mood for.

It’s the nicest feeling to know that no one can hear me. Maybe my neighbors can hear me. In which case they probably think I’m batshit.

I just feel such a pure sense of freedom. It really does not care if I sound like shit. All that matters is that I’m enjoying myself. Most often, whatever it is that I’m singing involves “belting” something far out of my range, not warming up, and probably severe vocal damage.

It’s my greatest catharsis. It’s my sitting in front of the tv. It’s my overeating. It’s my drawing circles. It lets me get out whatever stresses I’ve been dealing with throughout the day, and, in these moments, I have absolutely no concerns.

It’s one thing to feel the freedom of performing in front of an audience. It’s an entirely different thing to feel the freedom of singing just for the sake of singing.

My rockstar time is just for me. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

2 Responses to “i am a scary rockstar?”

  1. Hannah Says:

    The only thing that makes rockstar time better is the removal of clothing…

  2. emmuhhs Says:

    is use of a hairbrush involved in any way?


Leave a Reply

