say what?

January 27, 2010

“I created a lie that became the truth.
The lie was for everyone,
but the truth was only for myself.
So what do I do with it?
What do I do with the truth?”

“Rising, Up”
See What I Wanna See
Michael John LaChiusa

I’ve been falling back into love with this show See What I Wanna See. It ran off-Broadway for a little while in 2005 at the Public Theatre. It has a cast of only five, and it’s made up of three entirely individual stories. One is just the opening numbers of the first and second acts, one is the rest of the first, and the last is the rest of the second. I love the way it’s structured, like a book of short stories, which I love. They never come together, there’s no surprise at the ending where all of the seemingly-unrelated stories become intertwined. Each of them stands alone, but they’re connected by their themes, ideas, and what they make you think about. Read the summary for a great description of it. (Please read it. It’s beautiful.)

It’s all about perspective. My view of the world, of the truth, is so much different than yours. And does that matter? I don’t think it does. I don’t think truth is a set thing. It’s different for every person.

I remember, in English class a few years ago we talked about the difference between perspective and reality and truth. And everyone said that perspective is in your mind, and reality and truth were what is factual. But the facts have to always go through the filter of our minds. The truth is not always the same. My truth is mine. Yours is yours.

I think that’s the way it should be. I think that’s really important. I don’t see any reason why I should sacrifice the beauty of my individual truth, my beliefs, my reality, the way I see the world.

And then there’s the question: what do I do with the truth? I think all we can do is try to be as honest and true to ourselves and to our own truth. And never let anything cause our faith and personal truth to waver. My own personal reality is something that no one can take away from me. And nobody can copy it. It’s the only thing that is completely mine. And, to me, that is what life is about, I guess.

One Response to “say what?”

  1. marypopkens Says:

    i agree with this post on SO many levels


Leave a Reply

