i bathed on stage?

December 21, 2009

So, this past Friday night, I was in a show with the RMHS improv troupe Improvosaurus.

Needless to say, we killed it. =]

We ended the evening with a game that we had never done before. And I don’t mean we’d never done it in a show before. I mean we’d been told about it, but it had never been played by any of us. Ever. Now that’s improv.

This game, with the warm and fuzzy title Bucket of Death, involved a large bucket of water. A large bucket of water on a balmy fifteen degree December evening. It also involved getting completely soaked in front of a large number of people, my hair included. I didn’t really want to do it. I threw a diva tantrum for a total of about ten seconds, and then agreed to do it upon learning of the arrival of towels. Hannah and Patrick were the other lucky two to participate.


The game was to be the final one of the night, and when it came time to bring out the useless tarp and Bucket, the nerves were setting in. The audience decided, of course, that I should be the first player in. I stood there, staring at my nemesis, butterflies having seizures in my stomach, preparing myself for the icy chill. And then… I dunked.

The water was actually rather warm. The bucket had been filled via drinking fountain. And as soon as we began running, yelling, and sliding about the stage, I realized I was having some of the most fun of my life. I soaked the entirety of my upper body, crashed into others and the floor multiple times, and even got some water up my nose. And it was so worth it.

Here are the results:

The moral of the story: even if you don’t think you want to, even if you’re nervous, even if you have no idea what’s going to happen, take a risk. Put your head in the fucking bucket.

Oh, and we ended the game with a performance of Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance,” complete with real music video choreography. If you didn’t come see this show, you’ll just have to next time.

Leave a Reply

