where’s the passion at?

December 9, 2009

I’ve kind of been thinking lately about passion. No, not in a sexual way, I grew out of humping anything that didn’t run away after middle school, I think. But just having passion for something. Having there be something that you care so much about and things that you feel so strongly that you will go to the ends of the earth to keep obtain them, keep them safe, or share them with the world.


See, I’m doing this history project on the musical Hair, because I’m a dorkwad. And, it just keeps hitting me how all of these kids during the sixties and seventies were my age. That would be like me and my friends just going home and telling our parents, “We care enough about what this world is coming to and how we can affect it, that we’re leaving. We’re just packing up and leaving, and trying to make a difference, trying to change the world.”

It seems absurd but so many teenagers did it. I think there are very few who would do that today. And maybe it’s because we aren’t faced with the situations they were faced with, and you never know how far you’ll go until you go there, but I don’t think there’s passion equal to that around as much today.

Sure, there’s passion. Tiger Woods is passionate about his prostitutes, Kanye West is passionate about being a douchebag, everyone else is passionate about calling Kanye West a douchebag, and my math teacher is passionate about being a total dingus. But we’re not doing anything with too much vigor.

We talk so much. We have the ability to communicate with the world instantly, what with Twitter, blogs, Facebook, text messaging. We talk so much. We talk so much, but we say so little. Why aren’t me and my friends trying to change the world yet?

It reminds me of one of my favorite books, The Great Gatsby. We’re just like Daisy and Gatsby and Myrtle, and all the rest of them. We’re just empty people shells with not much going on inside. They were shells because they had lived through the trauma of war, and had become numb to so many emotions. They go to parties, take so much action, but it’s all just trivial. They run, and run, and run, but they never go anywhere. (Like track. Why anyone does track, I don’t know. Everyone who does track hates it. Don’t disagree with me.)

So, why are we numb? What’s happened to my generation that’s caused us to become shells. Maybe the passion’s out there and I just haven’t found it yet – in myself or around me. I hope, one day, to have one moment where I’m just surrounded and encompassed by it.

This is what passion looks like to me. This is one of my all-time favorite photographs.

And, I just have to say  that I hate attempting-to-be-deep, brooding blog things like this. Like when people tweet about how depressed they are. And so, it’s not like me normally to make this big long post about how awful my generation and our world is. But, fuck, I don’t have to read this blog, you do, so why should I care?

Speaking of passion. There’s nothing more passionate that this:

Oh, and please comment. Because, (a) I want to know what you think, and (b) I need to be convinced that people actually look at this honker. You don’t need any account or anything. So, if you read this, comment.

7 Responses to “where’s the passion at?”

  1. Caitlin Says:

    Love this! Youz an awesome writer Marky Mark!

  2. caitlin Says:

    That was stupid. But I enjoyed it and showed it to my friends.

  3. emmuhhs Says:

    I remember doing projects from the sixties and I totally relate with how it gets in your head. When I did it I didn’t really see it the way you did though, I kind of saw it as less of a movement for the purpose of what they were doing and more of a movement because they could. Not to say that a lot of them didn’t go on to wave posters and promote their ideals, because they did.

    Our position in the world is well established today and by now everyone knows that we can take control of ourselves and shoulder responsibilities. The majority follow the high school-college-job path before stepping out to passionately demonstrate and stand up for their ideas. People who are educated and experienced are taken more seriously. This isn’t really fair because there are definitely youths who have more to say and more reason to say it than adults, but there is reason behind this. I honestly think the best way to make a difference right now is to work through education so that when you can be taken seriously, you have something to say and the information and capabilities to back it up.

    Normally I don’t comment on stuff but since you asked, I decided to acquiesce. Other random points: I loved the video, and I hate when people bitch and moan the same thing multiple times a day on twitter.

  4. greek girl Says:

    “you don’t have passion you don’t have culture.”

  5. greek girl Says:

    “you don’t have passion, you don’t have culture”


  6. I absolutely loved reading this. You make awesome points. It just reminds me of when my dad talks about my “ambition problem.” This frustrates me because I know I have ambition, I just don’t have it for what he wants me to have it for. But in reality our whole generation has an ambition problem. I figure ambition and passion have a lot to do with each other.

  7. Ben Says:

    Hey Mark,

    I’m not one to read blogs, nevermind post on them, but I stumbled upon this and felt obliged…so, here it is.

    Without a doubt, apathy is everywhere in our generation. But, Hair (which is awesome) is a very concentrated look at the Hippie generation, the majority of youth weren’t “tuning in, turning on, and dropping out.” Many, went to school, worked, owned a car, were in cute high school relationships, and went on to college like most quaint suburbanites here and now.

    Protests still erupt in passion and violence in the streets today, I’ve been in fights with cops and nearly arrested before. People still leave home at 16, I know lots of squatters and drop-outs. The world is still full of energy. It’s just not highlighted in the media, or in pop culture anymore.

    “They keep you doped up with religion, sex, and TV” John Lennon said of the middle class in the ’70s…it’s true today.

    Great post…great point!

    And, I realize you were hitting on a lot more than that…just my two cents.

    Thanks and hope for more,
    –Ben


Leave a Reply

